Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2019 FDAAA Awards Presented at the 2019 Annual Meeting – May 13, 2019

May 13, 2019

Service Recognition Award:

  • Alan F. Andersen – For “Outstanding Work in Electronic Communications to Spread the Awareness of FDAAA and Its Activities”


  • Marie A. Urban – For “Providing Outstanding and Ongoing Minutes, Institutional Memory and Advice to the FDAAA Board and Executive Board”


    Nancy Myers, Marie Urban, and Ed Steele

Volunteers of the Year:

  • Lisa Barclay – For “Outstanding Organizational Skills in Enriching the Experience of FDAAA Members through organization of events and social opportunities for FDAAA members and potential members as well as supporting these events and opportunities through sponsorships”


    Nancy Myers, Lisa Barclay, and Ed Steele

  • Richard A. Baldwin – For “Outstanding Strategic and Visionary Skills to Prepare FDAAA for the Future”


    Ed Steele, Richard Baldwin, and Nancy Myers

Certificates of Appreciation:

  • Allen Sayler – For “Continuing to build a strong and sustainable FDAAA Awards Programs that have increased the number of Committee members, provided credible awards to deserving winners, interacted in a positive manner with the FDA Awards Group and participated in a number of FDAAA events throughout the year that contributed to increasing the visibility and recognition of FDAAA among both members and potential members during the 2018 – 2019 FDAAA year”


    Nancy Myers, Allen Sayler, and Ed Steele

  • Bryan Coleman – For “Identifying and establishing a firm operational foundation for the FDAAA by resurrecting the contractual relationship with FDAAA’s financial advisory firm as well as managing and identifying the best ways to preserve and increase the value of FDAAA financial assets and participating in key FDAAA events throughout the year that contributed to increasing the visibility and recognition of FDAAA among both members and potential members during the 2018 – 2019 FDAAA year”

  • Angela Hoague – For “Showing strong leadership and organizational skills in organizing and successfully complete key FDAAA events as a member of the FDAAA Activities Committee during the 2018 – 2019 FDAAA year”


  • DEBORAH M. AUTOR – For “Dedicated efforts and special recognition in assisting FDAAA Chair Nancy Myers during her term by serving in many leadership roles and strengthening FDAAA”


    Nancy Myers, Deb Autor, and Ed Steele

Past Board Member’s Recognition:

  • David L. Chesney

  • Nancy Myers


    Nancy Myers

John C. Villforth FDAAA Founder’s Award: Presented by Joe Levitt on behalf of FDAAA to Nancy B. Myers – For “Significant and Visible Contributions Exemplifying the True Spirit of the Motto: Serving Those Who Have Served”


Joe Levitt, Nancy Myers, and Ed Steele

FDAAA Founder’s Award Renamed in Honor of John C. Villforth:

The FDA Alumni Association (FDAAA) is adding a name to its Founder’s Award, which recognizes outstanding leaders of the FDAAA. The award will now be known as the John C. Villforth Founder’s Award.

John Villforth’s vision, energy and leadership led to the creation of the FDAAA 2002. He navigated the association through its early years and provided the foundation for the present organization.

Villforth is a former director of the Center for Devices and Radiological Health and its predecessor, the Bureau of Radiological Health. A former member of the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, he held the rank of Rear Admiral and Assistant Surgeon General and served as the Corps’ Chief Engineer. After three decades of federal service, he became Executive Director of The Food Drug and Law Institute and served on several industry boards.

Starting in 2000, Villforth recognized the need for an organization representing FDA alumni. He met with alumni associations from other government agencies, and simultaneously recruited other FDA alumni to join his effort. His goal was to create and maintain an organization that could unite all FDA alumni and provide a framework in which they could continue public service. The original FDAAA board had representatives from every part of the Agency.

Villforth was trained as an engineer, and was a proud graduate of Penn State University. He and his wife have three daughters.

The John C. Villforth Founder’s Award recognizes FDAAA leaders who have “made significant and visible contributions to promoting the growth and visibility of the FDAAA.” Another award issued by the FDAAA is the Harvey W. Wiley Award, which recognizes leaders who have made lasting contributions to FDA and its mission. Villforth himself was a recipient of the Wiley Award.

Announcement of the renaming of the Founder’s Award in honor of John C. Villforth was made at this May 13, 2019 Annual FDAAA meeting.

Past Chair of the Board of Directors and President’s Recognition:

Nancy B. Myers for Outstanding Service as FDAAA Chair of the Board of Directors from 2015 – 2019.

Edward A. Steele for Outstanding Services as the FDAAA President from 2012 – 2019


Nancy Myers, Deb Autor (Newly Elected Chair, Board of Directors), and Ed Steele


May 13, 2019
Event Category: